Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Crazy Week January 24, 2011

Filed under: Perspectives,Weekly Meal Plans — JBraddockRD @ 6:34 am

January is what I like to call the “Dietitian’s Season.” My husband has his football season and I have my nutrition season. This week I start teaching the Y’s No Time to Waist program at two different locations. I am also in charge of our first diabetes support group on Thursday evening (Thursday, 6pm at the Yates YMCA. Email me for more info: jbraddock@firstcoastymca.org) Therefore, I am not going to be home much this week and eating healthy gets tough.I got home from traveling around 7:45 tonight, with all my produce from yesterday in hand. Despite wanting to just veg out on the couch, I chopped and bagged everything. The spinach is washed and ready for salads. Carrots are peeled and ready to be cooked. Oranges are sliced and ready to offer lots of vitamin c to prevent getting sick. I am prepare, or as prepared as I can be to eat good food in the midst of chaos.

It’s these little things that can make a huge difference in your week. What steps do you need to take on the week to make healthy living easier during your busy week?

 

One Response to “Crazy Week”

  1. Doreen Says:

    Hi Jenna: I do what you do and prepare ahead of time for the week. On sundays I will usually cook a couple of different things and vegies and will freeze individual servings and also put some of it in containers that I can just grab and take to work. Yesterday I did a meatloaf in the crock pot! Yum! I used a small amount of steel cut oats instead of bread crumbs. Turned out great! Miss seeing you at Brooks! 🙂


Leave a comment