Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Post New Questions Here September 7, 2007

Filed under: Questions — JBraddockRD @ 1:58 am

Respond here with your nutrition question.

 

7 Responses to “Post New Questions Here”

  1. Hi Jenna,
    Isabella is 6 months old now, and I am starting to puree some food for her. I wondered if you could tell me if there is any benefit to steaming vs boiling her veggies? Also, how long can I store a new batch of pureed veggies in the refridgerator? Thanks so much!!!!!

  2. Summer Says:

    Hey Jenna,
    This is so cute! Anyways, I’m really interested in becoming a nutritionist, but it is not offered here. I am taking a class on nutrition, but I want to learn some stuff on my own so that eventually I could do that later, and just because it is good to know! I’ve been looking for books to read about nutrition, but am having difficulties picking one. Any suggestions?? Thanks!! Hope all is well with you and Braddock and STA!

  3. Mel RN BSN CHPN Says:

    Hello Jenna,
    I appreciate your education, credibility, and scientific perspective.
    Looking for a substitution for my “famous” oatmeal cookie recipie, I came upon your website because I wanted to use ground flax seed in place of wheat germ. (I’m going to go for it!)
    Much is written in “popular literature” about phytoestrogens and other plant based hormones and hormone buliding blocks.
    Could you address using nutrition to balance and support hormonal health through the lifespan?
    My personal and professional nutrition interest is making good nutrition realistic and available.
    Thank you!

  4. Michelle Says:

    Rice milk, almond mils, and soy milk?

    Okay, while on the topic of milk… can you help me sort things out? About 2 years I converted to soy milk for my morning cereal bowl for the Omega 3. I’ve really enjoyed it, but recently someone told me that soy milk contains added hormones, and can contribute to infertility for men!!! Is that true? The person reccomended rice milk or almond milk instead of soy. Can you give me the skinny on the 3 and if the rumors about added hormons and male infertility are true?

  5. Alexis Says:

    Hey Jenna! Which foods do you recommend buying organic? I’ve heard dairy, meat, and fruit products are the ones which are smart to buy organic.

  6. Valerie Says:

    Jenna,
    I just heard you speak at our Company, Availity. I am resolved to add more fiber to my diet in 2009. I would like to get some of your favorite smoothis recipes, and I think I’m going shopping for a Magic Bullet….You are a great speaker, I really enjoyed what you had to say. Thanks,

  7. Wendy Cheney Says:

    Hey Jenna! I hope you and Brian are doing well! I love reading your blog- it is so nice to hear an opinion that I can trust about nutrition topics!

    My question is about prenatal vitamins. I am not pregnant, but John and I are planning to start trying in about 5 months. I have been taking Prenatal Plus that my NP prescribed for me. I try to be very conscious about what I eat and I started wondering if there was any danger in getting too much calcium or other vitamins/minerals from a combination of my diet and the prenatal vitamin.

    I try daily to get 100% of my calcium from a combination of soymilk, plain yogurt, cottage cheese and goats milk. And I usually succeed. Is it safe for me to also be getting another dose of 100% of my daily calcium in the vitamin?

    And I know that folate is very important to stock up on before and during pregnancy- my usual breakfast cereal is Kashi Golean, which is not fortified with folic acid. But I could eat another healthy cereal that is fortified with 100% of the RDA of folic acid as a snack later in the day to ensure that I am getting enough folate daily.

    So basically, should I keep taking the prenatal vitamins even though I am doubling up on the RDA amounts of calcium and possibly folate? Or just try to make sure my diet includes a variety of fruits, vegetables and nuts to get those other vit/minerals?

    Thanks so much, Jenna. I have been wondering about this for a while.


Leave a comment