Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

What do I do with Kale? October 27, 2011

I ask myself this question every fall, when kale is in season. I know it’s super good for me, and I just can’t find a preparation I am in to (besides hiding it in my smoothie every morning).

Being that I am from South Florida, and not the “The South”, I never ate kale growing up. I don’t think I even knew what it was till about 6 or 7 years ago. I’ve tried making the tradition southern “greens” and I just don’t really care for them. I have even tried making kale chips by baking the leaves, which left my house stinky and my palate not that enthused.

Last month I ate at one of my favorite local restaurants and hesitantly tried their kale salad. It turned into a magical moment where the birds started singing and a rainbow appeared over my table because I knew I  had found a way to enjoy kale. And surprisingly, it was fresh! I quickly wrote down all the flavors I thought I was tasting with the intent to recreate this masterpiece at home. So last night I gave it a whirl, and crossed my fingers that my hubby would like it too. People, it was a huge success. Therefore, I present to you my Lemon Kale salad and it is “Husband Approved” ! (In the Braddock household, this is the highest culinary ranking you achieve, and ensures you it is yummy and will be accepted by many.)

Let me know what you think. Have a healthy day everyone!

Lemon Kale Salad

3 cups of fresh kale, finely chopped

juice of one lemon

2 tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil

1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

1/2 cup toasted walnuts, roughly chopped (original salad had pine nuts which are super expensive so I used walnuts and it was great)

Pinch of salt and pepper

  1. Add the first 5 ingredients to bowl large enough to mix in.  Add salt and pepper cautiously. Toss to combine.
  2. Take a little taste to make sure you get the right balance for your preference.
  3. Serve and enjoy!
Serves 3-4 as a side salad
 

One Response to “What do I do with Kale?”

  1. fromherenow Says:

    Kale is also great in stir fry or tossed with butternut squash, whole wheat pasta, olive oil, parmesan and pine nuts.


Leave a Reply

