Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Farm to Plate Dinner October 17, 2011

Filed under: Eating Local,Restaurants — JBraddockRD @ 7:28 am

Saturday  night was truly magical. I know that may sound a little strange being that it was just dinner and a movie. But to me, it was awesome. I attended Black Hog Farm’s farm to table dinner at Pastiche. The food was amazing (go eat there). Each dish seemed to have a small story attached to it.

I had the pleasure of sitting with some of the family members of Black Hog Farm during dinner. What a treat! I learned about the individual ingredients and came away convinced that this family is deeply vested in what they do. It was very evident that a great deal of pride, and really love, goes into the care of each animal and crop they produce.

I highly recommend supporting this farm. The prices on their food items are also some of the best I’ve seen. Contact Sharon at info@blackhogfarm.com for more information.

Here are some pictures from my fantastic meal. (I am still working on my food styling skills so I hope they look appetizing.)

The Menu

 

Appetizer - Deviled Eggs

 

The best cornbread I have ever had

 

Salad

 

Main Course - greens, chicken and dumplings, sweet potatoes, amazing pork tenderloin

 

Dessert - brown butter cake and apples

 

The family of Black Hog Farm

 

One Response to “Farm to Plate Dinner”

  1. […] my Farm to Plate dinner a couple of weeks ago, the farmer of Black Hog Farm reminded me of something that I have been […]


Leave a Reply

