Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Avocado Salad August 21, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — JBraddockRD @ 9:20 pm
Tags: ,

Tonight we had a reunion dinner with our Haiti missions trip team. It was wonderful to be back together! I am surprised by how quickly I forget to remember Haiti in my daily life. We experienced so many life changing events and it was emotional to look back over the pictures and share stories.

The dinner was potluck style and several of us wanted to bring Haitian style food. I am totally in to that kind of thing. I purchased a Haitian cookbook from the Port au Prince airport before we left called A Taste for Haiti. It is written by a French women who moved to Haiti. The original language of the book was French so the recipes are written a little different than American cookbooks, which makes some of them more like a mystery to solve.

I wanted to make a salad and the cookbook listed an avocado salad. Unfortunately the directions were pretty much “mix avocado and grapefruit.” Not super helpful but it inspired a fun salad idea. I think I came up with something simple, healthy and delicious, if you love avocados like I do. It is a pretty salad too, which is always a good touch for a party. (Blah looking food just doesn’t get eaten at parties, regardless of how delicious it may be. I have some experience in this, i.e. Roasted Eggplant Dip.) So here is what I came up with. Everyone (again, those who love avocado) really enjoyed it and were surprised by the flavor combination.

Avocado Salad

  • 4 large mostly ripe avocados, sliced lengthwise in thin strips  (Large “slimcado” or Florida avocados work best. Look for ones that are between firm and soft)
  • 2 cucumbers, thinly sliced in half moons
  • 1 small onion (choose your favorite kind – I used yellow), thinly sliced in strips
  • 3 Pink grapefruit, sectioned, rind removed
  • Olive oil, about 3-4 tbsp
  • Kosher salt to taste
  • Chopped fresh cilantro, about 3 tbsp or to taste
  1. Gently mix all ingredients together. I used my hands to fold everything together.
  2. Let sit, refrigerated, for about an hour before serving.
 

3 Responses to “Avocado Salad”

  1. Doreen Says:

    Thank you for sharing Jenna! I am a nut for avocados! I eat them everyday right now while in season. I love to add them on top of my sandwich or on the side in a salad. I have bee on a veggie burger kick and I had an over abundance of whole mushrooms that I didn’t want to spoil so I chopped them in my food processor as well as kidney beans, ( I was out of black beans) red and green onions, garlic and brocolli slaw. I amixed in a half cp of whole wheat flour and half cp of whole wheat bread crumbs, 2 beaten eggs, sea salt and pepper. I dropped them in aliitle canola oil and fried them. Probably should hv baked but these were incredible.y husband and daughter loved them too. I had a small spinach and sprout salad and fresh salsa and blue chips on the side.

  2. Tami Gressman Says:

    Sounds yummy! Definitely will give it a try!!

  3. Carroll Miniard Says:

    Jenna,
    Anything you make is not only healthy, it is also delicious! I can’t wait to try this recipe. I’m crazy about avacado! Thanks so much for sharing.


Leave a Reply

