Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Smoothies January 22, 2009

Filed under: Recipes — JBraddockRD @ 6:28 pm
Tags: ,

I love Smoothies. I still remember my first Smoothie King smoothie when I was in 6th grade. This is around the time that the whole smoothie thing took off. I think smoothies can be an incredible, healthy addition to your diet. They can also be laced with a tremendous amount of sugar (and therefore calories) if you are not careful. So I say it’s time to appreciate the true sweetness of fruit and pass on the added sugar (aka turbinado) in store-bought smoothies and learn how to make this nutrition miracle in  your own home.

A proper blender is imperative for making a great smoothie. I have tested quite a few blenders in my day and have decided that the Magic Bullet is as great as they advertise it be. If you plan on making smoothies regularly, you need a Magic Bullet. 

Using frozen fruit instead of ice is a crucial ingredient. It’s hard to blend up the ice thoroughly enough in a blender. Plus, crushing ice seems to ware out your blender more quickly.

So here is my basic smoothie recipe. I believe I figured it to be about 300 calories and about 10 grams of fiber.

1 cup frozen fruit (I prefer berries)

1 cup liquid (milk or soy milk)

2-3 tbsp of low fat yogurt, any flavor (this gives creaminess)

1 tbsp ground flax seed

1 tsp Fibersure (you can find this in the Metamucil isle at the store)

In a magic bullet cup, fill with the frozen fruit first and then cover with milk. You may need to keep adding some milk to make it fluid enough. Next add the yogurt, flax and Fibersure. Screw on the blade and mix away!

I have also added 1 scoop of protein powder to my shakes when I have it. My favorite protein powder is chocolate from HealthyWay Cafe here in Jacksonville. You can order it online at: http://www.healthywayorganics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=HO&Product_Code=U&Category_Code=

When I use this powder I eliminate the yogurt and have to take into account the extra calories. The chocolate and berry flavors go together so well in my opinion.

When you do decide to buy a smoothie, remember to check the nutrition facts. Many of the smoothies in chain places are over 500 calories. If your smoothie is a snack, try to keep it under 250 calories and look for good nutrients like fiber and protein. If it’s a meal, then go for under 400 calories or so. A great way to get your smoothies in the right calorie range is to elliminate the added sugar. Turbinado is often listed as an ingredient in smoothies. Turbinado is just raw sugar. It is really no better for you than table sugar. I’m not gonna lie: the first time you order your smoothie without  sugar it will taste different. But you will get used to it and your waist line will appreciate it.

 

3 Responses to “Smoothies”

  1. Krissie Says:

    I was so excited to find a Jenna blog! And I love smoothies, so I guess my next investment will have to be a Magic Bullet (also because my other blender is about to die)!

  2. Leah Says:

    Sorry it’s been SO long since I’ve posted a comment on here Jenna! I LOVE smoothies, but have never made one on my own! I’m going to put these ingredients on my grocery list so I can make one next week!!

  3. Leah Says:

    Jenna!! I tried your smoothie recipe and LOVED IT!! Thanks so much!!


Leave a Reply

