Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Eating Clean Saga, Half Marathons, Sports Nutrition and other Random Highlights December 13, 2011

Good Morning! Sorry I have been absent for a few days. Here are some updates:

Our clean eating adventure continues! My husband told me yesterday that he had a somewhat heated conversation with one of his students about how healthy eating really does make a difference in how you feel. Internally, he couldn’t believe he was saying the things he saying. When he told me this, I started celebrating my “victory” of having him join me on the healthy side of life. It’s a good feeling to be on the same page and to have a healthier man. For those who have not been following me over the years, this has been a journey for us for over 6 years. As I continue to say over and over, healthy eating is a practice and you just keep working on it. Different seasons of life yield different ways of eating. Keep taking every small step to a healthier diet. It makes a difference in the long run!!

We, the Braddocks, have started training for a half marathon! I’m sort of excited. I have run this distance only once before and it was “ok”. My favorite length of distance is the 15K or a little over 9 miles. 13.2 can just get painful. But alas, here we are. A year ago, we did the marathon in Jacksonville as a relay team with some friends. My hubby made this statement as we were shivering in line to get on the bus at 0-dark-thirty in the morning, “If we are getting up this stinkin early, we are just going to do the half next year.” Yeah right. He’s just saying that, so I thought. But when it was time to sign up for the early bird discount, he was ready to commit. So we paid and now we have to run. Don’t take me wrong, I do enjoy running. But this post-baby body is still getting back into gear and it’s a slow process. This weekend we ran 6 miles, which was encouraging. We are on track for the race in February and I’m starting to feel like the old me. So I tell you this long, long story to inform you that you can expect some sports nutrition nuggets of knowledge on the blog over the next couple of months.

Next, I am adding another fun healthy holiday event to my schedule this week. (Yah, I’m having a hard time keeping with up with myself!) I will be speaking about sports nutrition and running tomorrow, Wednesday, December 14th at the Jacksonville Running Company store in Bartram Park at 10:45 am. It is free and open to anyone. If you have never been to the store, I highly recommend checking it out. It’s a fun place to be and shop.

Lastly, I made a delicious soup last night and watched Kung Fu Panda (a favorite movie in our house). What do the 2 have in common? Secret Ingredient Soup, of course!! Previously, soup was not really recognized as an acceptable dinner meal. I’ve been committed to trying to find ways to make soup heartier, healthier and tastier. If you follow my twitter posts (@Jbraddockrd), you may recall that I have made turkey and veggie stock since Thanksgiving. I do believe homemade stocks may be my secret ingredient. I use boxed stocks all the time, but love to make my own around the holidays because we have leftover carcasses and veggies. It makes a difference. Here’s my soup from last night:

“Secret Ingredient” Winter Soup

3 shallots chopped

1 cup baby carrots, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 potato, cut into small cubes

1 chicken breast, cut into small cubes

2 large winter green leaves (I’m not sure what type they were to be honest. Maybe chard?), chiffonade

1 can of white beans, drained

2 cups turkey stock, homemade if possible

1 cup veggie stock, homemade if possible

salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp Herbs de Provence

Directions: Saute onions and carrots in evoo over medium heat. Add chicken cubes and brown on all sides. Add stock and bring to a boil. Add potatoes, greens and Herbs de Provence. Reduce to low and simmer for at least 30 minutes. Add beans toward the end of cooking. Season if needed. 

I hope you have a wonderful, healthy day. Take care of yourself and try to avoid getting sick. Eating a lot of fruits and veggies are nature’s medicine for prevention!

 

One Response to “Eating Clean Saga, Half Marathons, Sports Nutrition and other Random Highlights”

  1. Yummy! I made butternut squash soup in the crock pot yesterday. Found already cut up cubes at Sam’s- eliminating my least favorite step!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers