Fresh Food Perspectives

With so much nutrition information out there, sometimes you just need a fresh perspective.

Baking with Flax Seed April 6, 2009

My post on flax seed vs wheat germ gets the most hits on my blog. So I am assuming people want to know about flax seed.

Baking with flax seed will change your product. It makes the batter more dense. This means that the leavening agent (baking soda or powder, eggs, etc) will not be able to rise as much and the cell structure of your baked good will be smaller. Your recipe will probably taste similar but it will feel chewier in your mouth. Be cautious when you add flax to new recipes. I would start with no more than 1/4 cup, as a little goes a long way, and see how your product comes out. Below is one of my favorite banana bread recipes that I have added flax to. Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

 

                             1/3 cup    Canola Oil

                             ½ cup        Honey

                             1 tsp          Vanilla Extract

2                                           Eggs

1 cup         Mashed Bananas

1 ¾ cups   Whole Wheat Flour

1/4 cup      Ground Flax Seed

½ tsp         Salt

1 tsp          Baking Soda

¼ cup        Hot Water

½ cup        Chopped Walnuts

 

 

1.    Preheat oven to 325° F.

2.    Prepare a 9×5 inch loaf pan by spraying with non-stick spray.

3.    In a large bowl, beat oil and honey together. Add eggs, and mix well. Stir in bananas and vanilla. Stir in flour, flax seeds, and salt.

4.    Add baking soda to hot water. Stir the solution to mix. Add to batter.

5.    Blend in chopped nuts.

6.    Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.

7.    Bake for 55-60 minutes.

8.    Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes.  Then remove bread and cool on wire rack for ½ hour before slicing.

 

Recipe by Jenna Braddock, RD 

 

2 Responses to “Baking with Flax Seed”

  1. drpam Says:

    Hey Jenna. I typically sprinkle golden flax seed meal on ice cream and embed it in sandwiches for the extra nutrition and health benefits. (I have an autoimmune illness with lots of inflammation and can tell a difference when my diet includes omega fatty acids.) I’ve wanted to use it in cooking, which is how I found your post. Thanks for the tips and the recipe. Banana bread is one of my favorite foods!
    Pam

  2. Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for sharing. I’ll certainly be coming back to your site.


Leave a comment